Slideshow: Oblates Celebrate Decades of Ministry at Our Lady of Grace

Photos Provided by Bro. Charles Gilbert, OMI

On Sunday July 1, the Missionary Oblates bade farewell to the Shrine of Our Lady of Grace in Colebrook, NH, famous for its annual “Blessing of the Bikes” and as a spiritual place for respite and retreat nestled in the rustic woods of the North Country.

The Shrine of Our Lady of Grace was dedicated in 1948 but was actually founded many years before by Oblate Fr. Louis S. Desruisseaux, OMI. Now, after some 90 years, the Missionary Oblates are moving on.

The decades of ministry were honored with a final Eucharistic Celebration  attended by many Oblates including: Fr. James Taggart, OMI, Area Councilor, Fr. Bill Antone, OMI, U.S. Provincial, and the Shrine’s Director of many years, Fr. Robert Levesque, and its historian, Bro, Richard Cote’, OMI.

The Shrine’s Chapel was over-flowing with friends and co-ministers for this special event.